The Longest Day [chapter 1]


frog1

The Longest Day

Story by. Maeve

copyright©2008.Do not copy.

Chapter 1: When All Hell Break Loose

When you start a new love, probably you still have that tiny thing that makes you feel guilty for the old ones. Is he still longing for me to return? What kind of state he is in now? But when you think it over and over again, that kind of thought makes you feel hurt more and it’s better to leave thing unsaid.

But when your old love returns, honestly, my heart flutters a bit. Whether is wrong or good, he is the one that once fill my heart and this heart beating fast than usual again. And I cut off my insight because my belly is demanding some big-fat lunches, and of course my best friend Marco will send me the lunch pack like always, a very, very nice lunch pack. You know when you don’t have somebody to love and turns too, it’s quite good to turn your self and annoy your good friend. And the entire girl student at my school likes him; of course they’ll like him. Who doesn’t like a chef with 185 centimeters tall, curly hair but not bird-nest like, cool and eccentrics, handsome bachelor at the age 26 years old guy? His a nice guy who keep the laws of pay, pursue and protect kind of type of man, a little devil may cry on the edges, but all of him is sweetness. It’s all ready 11:30, why isn’t he come yet? But speak of the devil, I saw him walks at the stairs. I know my colleague all envy about me having this cute guy pampered me since the break-up. Well, what do I say; even he pampered me and does a lot to makes me happy. The line between us is already made clear. I don’t have affection of love toward him and so does he; we simply put our self as friend, in good time or bad time.

He knocks at the door, smile and enter the teacher office. He then saying hello to the entire teacher and tell me to go out and eat the lunch that he made. I always eat my lunch under the big banyan tree, some of the student picking at us, saying something like ‘it’s unfair, teacher bring her cute boyfriend to school’, or just whistling to make us notice that they annoyed. But I guess after being chewed by the principle yesterday about it, this is the last proper meal I’ll get from him.

“Tomorrow you’ll eat the cafeteria food again, huh? At last, I’m born free again.”

“You don’t like bring food and feed me?”

“Of course I like that, you are my rat lab.”

“Rat lab, uh, okay…enough for your honesty, dude. Seriously, I’ll die if I don’t eat your food.” I’m digging the lunch he brought me, but he look like he want to say something but hesitate to speak. So I’m pulling the bait.

“Just got your PMS, huh?”

“What?”

“Nothing it just that you seem want to say something to me? Am I right?”

“Yeah, but I don’t know should I tell you or not about this?”

“Tell me what, come on…Marky.”

“Because you call me by that name I guess I jus zip it!”

“What a wimp!”

“That is a verbal abuse.”

“Abuse, come on! I’ll give you strawberry if you tell me.” I’m pointing the strawberry under his nose, and he bites it down.

“Topan is back in town again.”

“Really, wow…that a shock.” I couldn’t believe my self either. My ex-boyfriend is in town, this news is kind of happy news for me. You know, I can’t stand the break-up between me and him. I know back then when we still going out, his desire is not me but his work. He tries to live on his humanity dream and decide to join the ‘Messenger of Love’ boat that travel the world, feed the hunger and cure the sick. For the sake of him, I try to be considerate. I say, pick me or the boat? But he accused me being difficult, and he picks the boat. He doesn’t even know how hard my life is without him, I even almost labeled as a drunker if I don’t meet Marco. See, even his best friend worry about me. And then, and then he just come back. I’m happy that maybe in a slightest chance I will meet him again, but I hate my self if that time comes, probably I’ll beg him to stay here forever, with me.

“That’s it?”

“What?”

“I said your ex is in town and you just…’wow I am shock’ kind of state. I need amusement from you, like start to call him bitch.”

“Bitch…that is to sissy, you know I don’t like to swear.”

“But you argue.”

“I don’t argue, when do I argue? Well, maybe a heated conversation with somebody, but I never argue. Argue isn’t my healthy spot, correct me if I’m wrong, but dude…there’s a girl right there, watching you by the library window. She’s nice and cute, want to meet her?” I’m trying to flip back the coin and started a new topic.

“And this is not arguing?” He turn his back to see if there are a girl who watching him.

“She’s Anna, the librarian. She’s begging me to tell you about her and you’re tall, handsome, got the brain and talent too, man…you’re a hot package. But why you still living in a monk’s life. Or you prefer Henry…our school mathematic teacher. He’s kind of hot too he’s ‘it’ by the way.” Refers that Henry is gay.

“Oh great, my own nemesis accuse me being gay?”

“What’s wrong to be gay?”

“I’m not gay!”

“Alright, I know.” I paused a bit. “You know what, Marc. I’ve been lying to my self and much more to you, I think today all hell just break loose.”

“What do you mean?”

“I’m all smiling on the out side, but I can’t stop the pain. I still miss him, and if you ask me if he want me to return? Probably within a second I’ll say yes.”

“But what if he find a new love and want continue cherish it?”

That is a completely a blow to me. “Well, maybe I’ll shout to him, did he enjoy playing with my feeling? He should know better that if I love a person, the feeling it self, I can’t really erase it that soon. Not when we break up and not even now. He decides on his own to leave me, but I never decide to leave him.”

“You must really like him a lot.”

“I don’t know. Just— I still want to date him.”

Marco face isn’t too happy to hear that. But he caresses my head, a simple gesture to make me feel better.

“So, no Anna or Henry?” I tease him again.

“Yup, no Anna OR Henry.” He answers it tight.

“So, if there’s no Anna or Henry…there’s probably another name?”

“What name?”

“Come on. Tell me, who’s the lucky girl that you pursue right now?”

He takes some drink and sips it up with his mouth. And then he takes a deep sigh, “There is this girl, the girl that I really like. I fallen for her, but she fall for another guy. So, for 6 years I exile myself learning something to gain my pride back in France. And I meet the new girl, we date each other and that’s it. End of story.”

“Do you love each other?”

“Nope. I don’t love her, because there’s still another girl, the girl whom still I love.”

I learn something from him today, he’s as the same as me, longing for the ONE that we both love. But the truth destiny isn’t fair to us. In my case, I longing for Topan to return to my side and in his case, he’ll find the girl he love and try to win her heart.

“I’ll have to go.”

“Yeah…the class almost starts too, thanks for the meals.” He pack the lunch box by him self while I’m running away to the school building attacking the envy friend at the teacher room, boasting that Marco is a great cook.

While packing it back to his bag, he got a phone call from Topan. The reason Marco tell Eva about him return and reside here again, it’s because he want her to know that Eva relationship with Topan isn’t going to work out like it used too be. He picks up the phone and talk.

“Hello.”

“Marco, hey, man. Did you talk to her about I’m getting married?”

“Not yet, you know she still not over you.”

“I know. Well, do you think it’s the best if I don’t tell her?”

“And have she to hear it from some other people beside me that you are getting married? Well, that’s nice…and you know, maybe you can parade your wedding car in front of her house and break her heart twice! It sounds fair to me, dude.” Marco is trying to restrain his anger but it didn’t cover up well.

“What’s wrong with you?”

“Nothing, it just…if you do that, she’ll have a very deep hole on her heart that no one else can’t close it. And I want to close it for her from you.”

“My god, you, you like her?”

“Hell yeah I like her, you took her for 6 years and I left for granted. If I know from the start that you will dump her like this, I’ll give up our friendship and tell her that I like her—“

Damned, I forgot my glasses case, maybe it still under the banyan trees. Even I know that my History class is getting started, I can’t read without my glasses. If I can’t read then I can’t start my class. So I run my ass to the banyan trees to checking it out. But what I see is, Marco still standing there talking.

“Let me tell you something before you judge me. My first love that used to makes my heart flutters like crazy, because of you it end up with painful situation. I went to France, and so now I think I have mature enough to think that sparks just a simple thing. But foolishly my heart beats faster again every day. Can you give me a chance?”

He keeps talking without noticing me not far from his back. I think he’s in a serious conversation.

“No. I tell her…just—“He stopped when he sees me. “I call you back.” Dumbfounded he put his phone back to his jeans.

“Well, what that’s all about? You’re freakin’ scary when you mad? And did you just stop breathing? If you just caught doing something by me, you always forget how to breathe.” I walk to him just to make sure he’s not dead.

“Breath you fool!”

“W-why’d you here?’

“I forget something. Hey, whose making you stop breathing like that? Tell me and I’ll send him to hell.”

He starts breathing even heavily he start breathing, I’m happy and relief.

“Eva, there’s one thing that I want to tell you. Topan he’s getting married this weekend.”

“What? M-married?”

“Yeah, married.”

I don’t know why my chest hurt like I’m swallowing a big rock and it stuck on my chest. I try to calm down, but my eyes won’t compromise and start crying. My emotions are push over the edge, and breaking down to sobs. Marco slowly walks and hugs me.

“You know something, there’s a relations that can’t go deeper with time but it will goes awful without you realize it. A fool like you probably doesn’t know it yet, right?”

In his hug I still sob like a two years old kid. I’m not being coward, it just I shouldn’t make hope from the day he left me. From now on I think I should reflect myself that our love is over, after the reflection is over, I will remain by myself for a while.

to be continue…

Leave a Reply

